Contra Costa County Employment and Human Services Division

Contra Costa County Employment and Human Services Division

Contra Costa County Employment and Human Services Division partners with the community to deliver quality services to ensure access to resources that support, protect, and empower individuals and families to achieve self-sufficiency.

Refugee Cash Assistance (RCA); Cash Assistance Program for Immigrants (CAPI)


Refugee Cash Assistance is available for the first 12 months that a refugee (admitted for permanent residence) is in the U.S.

In California, the refugee must first have eligibility for CalWORKs determined. If it is determined that the refugee is eligible for CalWORKs, aid must be paid under that program rather than from RCA funds.

The 12 months of RCA benefits for refugees are generally based upon the date of entry into the United States.  Asylees are eligible for up to 12 months from the date their asylum is granted.  Trafficking and victims of severe crimes, including non-citizen victims of domestic violence, may also qualify to receive RCA benefits. Again, eligibility for CalWORKs must first be determined and aid will be paid under that program if eligibility exists.



Provides cash assistance for aged, blind, or disabled legal immigrants who do not qualify for Supplemental Security Income (SSI) due to their immigration status.

To be eligible for CAPI, an immigrant must be a Legal Permanent Resident of the U.S. and meet all other current SSI eligibility requirements.

CAPI applicants must provide financial eligibility information about their Immigration Sponsors. The income and resources of the Sponsor are considered available to the CAPI applicant for a period of 10 years upon arrival in the U.S. There are exceptions to the Sponsor deeming rules.

CAPI recipients are eligible for In Home Supportive Services (IHSS) if there is a need for In-Home Care. The Sponsor deeming rules are applied in calculating IHSS payment amounts.

The CAPI grant amounts are $10 less than the SSI grant amounts and are adjusted accordingly by the State.

CAPI is a California program, and one must live in California to receive this benefit. An absence of 30 calendar days may result in a loss of residence and a loss of cash aid.

Applications for CAPI are taken in the General Assistance offices. There are three General Assistance units located in Contra Costa County. If you want to apply for CAPI or get more information on your eligibility to CAPI, please call or visit the nearest office.

CAPI applications and cases are managed by San Mateo County.
CAPI Recipients can
obtain information about their cases by calling:
(800) 648-0954

For additional information about CAPI please contact:
(866) 663-3225

Service Area
Contra Costa County
Refugee Cash Assistance
West County - General Assistance
1305 Macdonald Avenue
Richmond, CA 94801
General Assistance - East County
4545 Delta Fair Boulevard
Antioch, CA 94509
General Assistance - Central County
400 Ellinwood Way
Pleasant Hill, CA 94523
Alameda County Seal